Home > Apple Mac > Mailplane

Mailplane

28/05/2007

I may never open Macintosh Mail.app again.

I use gmail for everything… I have a number of accounts, and in addition, I have my domain mail hosted there to gain the benefit of the google/gmail spam and virus protection.

Enter Mailplane.app. Its a wrapper for gmail and behaves just like a regular mail client. It has the usual toolbar, and dropdown menu system, all of which talks to gmail, and it presents your mail with the gmail web interface within the app.

I liked it before, but was hesitant, because the previous version only allowed one mail account at a time. In other words, when you logged out, the app would close. This issue has been dealt with in this version and switching between accounts is a snap.

I can see that I will be registering this one as soon as its out of beta 🙂

If you use a Mac, and you use gmail, this is a must-get app.

Join the beta program… it takes a while to get the invitation but it will come sooner or later.

Categories: Apple Mac
  1. 28/05/2007 at 7:54 am

    Hi Kyte – I am thinking about taking the plunge and switching to a Mac so will file this one away to explore later. Is there anything wrong with the Mac mail client or is it just a case of preferring gmail?

    Any advice for a potential switcher?

    Cheers

  2. kyte
    28/05/2007 at 11:54 am

    Absolutely nothing wrong with the mac mail client. I just like fiddling with new stuff and this is built specifically for gmail.

    Potential switchers should visit
    http://www.apple.com/au/getamac/
    and
    http://www.apple.com/au/macosx/leopard/index.html to get an idea of whats coming in June in the updated OSX.

    I wouldn’t get a mac yet, unless you were considering a macBook (not MB pro) because they were just updated but the other hardware is due for update “real soon now”. There are rumours that the Mini may be dropped from the lineup. A shame really, its the easiest way for switchers to manage because you can use your old screen, keyboard and mouse unless they are really *really* old.

    Do the research though, and keep tabs on the Apple site to watch for new products. Leopard is due for release end of June, its possible there might be iMac and Macbook pro upgrades around the same time, just before or just after. We all hope so anyway 🙂

  3. 29/05/2007 at 11:03 am

    I am thinking about a Mac Pro – any rumours that it will be updated too? Something I hate about technology, out of date as soon as you buy it. Thanks for the links, I am pretty much living on the apple site at the moment. Best thing I have found is that I get an education discount as a teacher.

  4. kyte
    29/05/2007 at 12:38 pm

    Best site to check for when updates *might* be due is
    http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/

    They say when the last update was, and whether they think it might be updated soon or not, based on previous update timing. Its a bit touch and go but its also a good guide.

    Mac Pro was updated to 8 core, but not all of them, so theres a possibility of more updates to come. They don’t seem to want to put a time on that.

    Another thing to watch is the exchange rate. A good exchange rate (eg better than when the last updates were out) means a price drop over here.

  5. kyte
    29/05/2007 at 12:40 pm

    Oh yeah, and I have gone back to using mail.app. Its the convenience I guess.

  6. jtfolden
    29/05/2007 at 10:37 pm

    Actually, Leopard is now delayed until October. Apparently, the iPhone is running a special build of Leopard and Apple decided to focus on the telecommunications bits first to get a new product out the door – and finish off the desktop related parts after…

    I’m having trouble believing Apple would ditch the Mac mini without a decent replacement in that price segment. It’s generally the perfect computer for switchers.

  7. 03/06/2007 at 2:02 am

    Thanks for the feedback. The more I read the more I want to switch.

  8. kyte
    04/06/2007 at 7:42 pm

    As a matter of interest, coach, and completely off-topic… are you aware of how many spam comments are being posted on your blog? I commented in the following and for whatever reason keep getting notified of responses… and all are spam… I did write to you via contact but perhaps that ended up in your spam email box

    http://www.cantcoachthat.com/index/site/comments/money_making_blogs/

  9. 07/06/2007 at 2:56 am

    Thanks kyte – sorry you are getting those notifications. I am looking into how to deal with it. I might have to look at a move to WordPress but hesitate at getting posts moved across.

  10. 07/06/2007 at 6:15 am

    I finally found the akismet extension I needed – hopefully spam will be a thing of the past. Thanks again.

  11. kyte
    07/06/2007 at 8:03 am

    Its okay, I have managed to disable it, it just required me posting another comment and unchecking send emails if someone replies

    Glad you got akismet. I can’t live without it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Wouter Brandsma

Visual thoughts

MIGUEL TEJADA-FLORES. PHOTOS.

"I photograph to find out what something will look like photographed." (Garry Winogrand)

breakfastographer

Cameras, sensors, software, ... and lenses!

bartjeej.blog

travel stories, photos & reviews

Dashcam Viewer

Drive Purposely. Never Worry.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.