Home > Facebook, Social > Left facebook again

Left facebook again

07/04/2018

I think the final nail in the facebook coffin was, for me, the recent scandal regarding data sharing, NOT restricted to the USA, and reaching into Europe and Australia that we know of, and probably many more place that we don’t. Cambridge Analytica had no right to our information, but Zuckerberg didnt care… until he got caught. And then… “Sorry”? What? That really is way too little, too late. The only thing he’s sorry about is getting caught, and losing profit.

I know that most of my friends will remain on facebook, because they don’t seem to care about their own privacy, or what might become of their information in the future. Lets face it… CA has that info now and who thinks they are going to delete the personal info of over 80M people, at least 300,000 of which are in Australia. Zuckerberg sold us out, and I for one am over him and his shit.

We didn’t have facebook a few years ago. We wrote emails, we participated in forums, and we picked up the phone. I can live without it, and if I miss out on some social event because I am not there and nobody bothered telling me… well… do I really need it? No, I don’t. Facebook, and Zuckerberg, can go to hell.

Categories: Facebook, Social
  1. Chris Lewis
    07/04/2018 at 1:27 pm

    That’s the point tho. FB *and* Google already have tons of data from us so I doubt them getting more will make much difference. Besides, apart from yourself, my entire social network uses Facebook so if I cut myself off from it I lose the entire lot… including all my family who I know will never leave it. 😦

  2. Sue
    07/04/2018 at 1:30 pm

    Well its horses for courses. The way I am looking at it now is that if people want to talk to me, they will make the effort. I would rather spend my sounding off time on the blog instead of on facebook where really, nobody gives a shit, not really. Everyone is outraged at this or that (me too) but I just cant be arsed with it anymore. I’ll still be in touch with both families via Telegram, email and message. No losses there. And the friends I care about will stay in touch.
    Wont you, Chris!!?

  3. Chris Lewis
    07/04/2018 at 1:32 pm

    Of course… I’m here aren’t I?? πŸ™‚

  4. Sue
    07/04/2018 at 1:34 pm

    πŸ™‚ I’m glad you noticed I am posting again. I wish you would. But I guess you’re really busy with the farm.. so… no expectations πŸ™‚

  5. Chris Lewis
    07/04/2018 at 1:39 pm

    I’m ‘following’ you so I get notified when you post. I just don’t look at Gmail very often either. The farm is a mess at the moment. Neither of us is 100% well (some bug going round) and Deb has some consultancy work which is keeping her occupied. As good as it is to be self-sufficient there is nothing like earning 4 times the national average income when the chance arises!! πŸ™‚

  6. Sue
    07/04/2018 at 1:41 pm

    Hell yeah, though the national average isnt that high anymore, I hear.

  7. Chris Lewis
    07/04/2018 at 1:52 pm

    You really don’t want to know what her daily rate is. All I know is it stopped me getting an age pension from Australia (tho I still get my UK one such as it is). Best of luck managing without FB by the way… I can’t even bring myself to even *try* it. Actually I spend 90% of my time in “Marauder’s Hollow ” the Harry Potter group I Admin… πŸ™‚

  8. Sue
    07/04/2018 at 2:03 pm

    You’re right, I dont want to know. But, I bet she earns it. Yeah I know its going to be hard going without FB, but really, selling our stuff to a mob like that… not on. who else is he selling us to. Google does advertising, I dont think they give our info holus-bolus to all comers… i dont like it but there it is. I thought that was all Zuckerberg was doing. I was wrong. I should have known that anyone who would rip off his friends for the rights to the site and the software, has no morals whatever. It will be hard, but I wont be back.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Wouter Brandsma

Visual thoughts

MIGUEL TEJADA-FLORES. PHOTOS.

"I photograph to find out what something will look like photographed." (Garry Winogrand)

breakfastographer

Cameras, sensors, software, ... and lenses!

bartjeej.blog

travel stories, photos & reviews

Dashcam Viewer

Drive Purposely. Never Worry.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.