Diet and Diabetes: A Rant.

This is a rant post.

I was diagnosed with Diabetes Type 2, some 10 years ago. I have always struggled with weight. Now, I am obese. Morbidly so. And what was the advice given by the educators? Was it to cut carbs and eat vegies and meat? Nope. They STILL want you to eat “healthy grains” (no such thing. ALL grains will a) raise BGL and b) add weight). That food triangle that the health department thinks is king shit… isnt.

Do you know, I was advised to eat NINE serves of carbs a day. NINE!!! That was about 4x my normal. “We dont want you having hypos” they said. “You MUST have them” they said. And I thought they knew best so I did it. And gained 20Kg, and they said to me “You must be cheating on your diet”. I wasnt. I was doing exactly as I was told and it was WRONG. I have managed only to maintain that weight, and have not lost any at all since those days. I wish I had not listened. I wish I had told them all to go take a flying leap. I’d still be overweight, always have been. But I would not be the size I am now.

I’m sick, and I’m tired, and I’m getting all kinds of other medical complications…

So here’s the lesson: If you get diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes DO NOT pay attention to the crap they tell you about carbs. You MUST go low carb. Carbs are what raise blood sugars and put on weight. Increase your fat intake. Avocadoes and eggs are good, OK? So is lamb and pork with the fat still on. I now cook with butter or coconut oil and stay well away from canola etc. I’m a carb addict so i have trouble staying off them… but I’m back to the levels I was at pre-diagnosis, at least. Next step is to remove complex carbs entirely (that is, no sugars, no bread, no rice, no pasta, no potatoes, no diet sodas). I’m well on the way, I have no pasta or rice in the house but I still have the odd small potato and sadly cave in to hot chips every so often. I need to stop both. There’s enough carbs in other vegies (peas, carrots, tomatoes) to make up for it. And I had better learn to make oopsie bread (google it)

I often make recipes as made available at Diet Doctor Which are all very healthy and tasty as heck… but I still get cravings for carbs. Gotta deal with it. Alas my liver and gall bladder hate fat so the LCHF doesnt work so well for me. Pain is not my friend. I just need to work out whats doable and I am still battling with that.

End rant. For now.

Leave a Reply

