Sleep Disorders

Not a snorer, me. Just someone who stops breathing multiple times per hour. Nothing like a collapsing airway to make you really tired at times you shouldn’t be. Its why I had to quit work in the end.

So I was diagnosed with Sleep Apnea about 10 years ago, and have been using *PAP machinery ever since. I started on CPAP (thats a fixed pressure machine) and then, without the approval of my sleep doc, I switched to APAP which is an auto machine and which will adjust itself up and down according to how it detects what your breathing is doing.

However… there are times when I simply stop breathing unrelated to a collapsing airway. I’ve noticed it sometimes as I am drifting off to sleep… I breathe out and for some reason my brain thinks I don’t need to breathe in again. Needless to say, I jerk awake and take a big breath. I’m guessing this is the mysterious “central apnea” which is spoken of in various forums and usenet groups. It’s probably time I went back for a review, because one day I won’t wake and I won’t start breathing again. In the meantime, my brain is turning to mush.

Leave a Reply

