And Just because I can…

I’ll make a comment in general on photo-a-day Challenges. I’m glad they call them challenges because I find them extremely challenging. The idea is that you develop a discipline in having to do something every day, whether its using one camera, or just one camera and lens and so forth. For me its a tiresome pest, and I really don’t enjoy it much past the first week. Then, when its associated with a forum, there’s an expectation (and why not!) that you’ll comment on everyone else’s efforts. An admirable aim, I believe, but when you have 30 odd people submitting every day, it becomes a tiresome mess, too.

What if you genuinely do not like some of the submissions? It happens. I think that the shoot-anything-as-long-as-you-submit mentality is bringing out a lot of second-rate shots which the owners would never bother submitting anywhere else. There are some which are hideous. Oh dear. I’m being judgmental.

4 thoughts on “And Just because I can…

  1. I completely agree with you, Sue. And its true in general on photography forums, people saying things like “nice picture” and “thanks for posting” on photos that are complete disasters. And yet, if you offer a tidbit of kind critique, there are folks (and this once happened to me, years ago) who will blister you for it.

    There is certain level of psychosis on camera forums, I think.

  2. Psychosis is probably a very good word for it 🙂 Certainly a madness possesses people at times. Even me

  3. As much as I enjoy challengin myself, also in group settings, I’ve stopped participating in picture a day challenges, as my output is just not of a consistently high enough level, and I often simply don’t feel like taking a photo. I also struggle with the criticism part; you dont want to reduce someone’s enjoyment of the challenge, but some critique would massively increase the value of the challenge as a tool to improve one’s skill. I’ll have a go at hosting the Picture Critique Challenge that I proposed a while ago, see how that works out.

  4. That will be interesting. I must confess I am not very good at critiquing work… my own or others. Have you considered how you’d run it? the rules etc?

Comments are closed.