And I still don’t have another cat.

I’m not “suffering” over the loss of Tom anymore, but I am really quite nervous about bringing a new cat (well, it would be a young cat or kitten, under 2 yrs) into the house. So I have been doing absolutely nothing about getting the house ready to receive a new cat. The study is still a shambles, the lounge room and bedroom have a bazillion places a kitty can hide and never be found again, and I am not looking. Much. I still check out the Sawyers Gully cat rescue place, last time I looked they had over 100 new kittens. I hope they managed to find homes for them. I’ve become very used to having the option to do what I want, when I want, and not have to fret over cats being outside or inside or being fed. Its been a bit of a relief, really. However, I am still in the gotta have a cat mindset. Once I leave that behind and decide I don’t *have* to have a cat, but in fact *choose* to have one, I think I will be more of a mind to go and actually get one.

3 thoughts on “And I still don’t have another cat.

  1. I *have* to have a cat… I’m emotionally dependent on mine. Twice in my adult life I went a couple of weeks without cats, and I was emotionally listless during those periods. Maybe its just that I need something to obsess over, and while my fervor for photography ebbs and flows, my enthusiasm for my kitties is constant.

  2. I know exactly how you feel. Trouble is, I think that getting Missy and trying to make her into a Tom-like creature was a mistake. I have to get past that. Whoever comes will be their own cat. If I could have realised that sooner, Missy would likely still be here. I feel dreadful about a series of mistakes which may have cost her life. So I’m reluctant to go through the same thing again, just yet. Whoever comes next time will not be surrendered to the RSPCA, regardless of personality. Tom and Smoochie spoilt me rotten. There won’t be others like them.

Comments are closed.