Been doing a bit of iPhone photography lately

Sometimes, I really don’t feel inclined to take a camera with me. And sometimes, even though I take one, I still prefer to use the iPhone. Now, whereas its native camera application manages very well, I have also lately been preferring to use Hipstamatic. I was one of those who did have a square format Kodak Instamatic when I was very much younger, and I really liked it. Of course it was a single lens, single focal length camera with no way of adjusting shutter speed, aperture or ISO, all of which was done in camera. I mostly shot B&W with it, because thats what I have preferred for years but with the advent of digital photography, I went with colour (oh yes, I did have a few other film cameras in the interim!).

Hipstamatic is a brilliant little app. Where you may apply filters on your computer later, Hipstamatic will do the job for you as if you are shooting with film. In fact all the films and lenses in the app can be combined in various ways for various different effects. My favourite of all is the Jane or John lens and BlacKeys Supergrain combination. Some examples follow.

You don’t get the sharpness and execution afforded by a DSLR, or even a “serious” compact, but there is a certain something about Hipstamatic that keeps me using it.

2 thoughts on “Been doing a bit of iPhone photography lately

  1. Logged in via my WordPress account. Just been looking again at the shots and they’re not bad. Interesting subject matter especially! šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks, Chris šŸ™‚ I must admit I do enjoy using the iphone photography apps. Hipstamatic brings back some of the Kodak 105 Instamatic joy to me (glances at the cupboard wherein the Kodak languishes, filmless)

Comments are closed.