James Potter and the Hall of Elders’ Crossing

JamesPotter1Nobody was more surprised than I, when I decided to read this ebook, written by G. Norman Lippert, and based, fairly obviously, on the Harry Potter universe, that I would actually like it. I’m not a fan of fanfic, but in the case of Lippert’s writing, I have made an exception: I’ve already begun the second book, plan to read the third (and fourth when its released). We cannot expect Lippert to write exactly as J.K.Rowling does, but he makes a decent job of it. Lippert’s Potter books are free to read in their ebook format and the links here go to Goodreads, where they have been published.

This is the first in the series, and tells of Harry’s son, James, in his first year at Hogwarts. James struggles with his father’s reputation, and his own expectations of how school will be. There are the inveitable bad guys, new characters (and some old ones) and a few unexpected twists and turns in what has turned out to be a delightful story. No, I’m not going to give a critical review, I don’t feel I have nearly enough expertise. All I can say is that I am finding Lippert’s books enjoyable, and once I have finished his Potters, I will probably end up buying one or two of his other books, as well.

