Migrating your WordPress Site

There is one problem associated with migrating your wordpress site from one place to another… that is.. images.

If you have uploaded images to the site, instead of maintaining them at a separate unrelated site (like Flickr, Picasa, Photobucket, Imageshack and the like), you will have to reupload (or send them to an image hosting site) because all links point to the previous location. In my case, to images at hamarana.wordpress.com. I’ve just uploaded a few since the migration but I am thinking its pretty crazy to keep doing that, if I am, from time to time, going to be moving my stuff around.

I guess I need to reorganise – a lot.

2 thoughts on “Migrating your WordPress Site

  1. Welcome back! That was a shame about losing hamarana.com. Did you think about maybe getting .com.au? My understanding is the previous restrictions have been relaxed.

    I’m glad you’re keeping the wordpress.com site as well, otherwise there would be a lot of broken links on my site!

  2. Thanks Michael. Yes, I thought about the .com.au but because its not a business with an abn, cannot do. I suppose I could go that far, but in truth, can’t be fussed. Happy enough with .net at this stage.

Comments are closed.