20 cool things to do with an iPad

Decided to make a new post for the screenshots. The other was going to be too long.
So, what can you do with an iPad? Nearly anything!

1) Read the news

2) Check your email

3) Check the weather

4) Do some research

5) Create a presentation

6) Take notes in Class

7) Write your essays, or the Great Novel

8) Show off your photos

9) Play some games


10) Look up a recipe

11) Discover your place in the world

12) Chat to friends

13) Play the piano

14) Web surf to your hearts content

15) Watch a movie

16) Visit the App Store

17) Read a book

18) Write your wordpress blog posts.

19) Consult Wikipedia

20) You also have the usual iPod resources which I am not using (preferring instead to continue using my iphone for those)

There’s a truckload of apps on site: Most iphone apps work on the iPad in a small window, and some of them translate reasonably well to a 2x scaling. Most don’t. I use Stanza as my reader of choice (iBooks is pretty but theres not much there yet) and the scaling up of Stanza was pretty hideous. So, enter the Spirit jailbreak and an application on Cydia (free) called Fullforce. All it does is what the developer could do if they wanted to, but Amazon owns Lexcycle now, so Stanza wont be liekly to be developed any further. I’ll still use it as long as I have sources. Fullforced Stanza gives a good reading experience, glad I did the jailbreak.

OK thats it for now.

19 thoughts on “20 cool things to do with an iPad

  1. Awesome post. I just bought an iPad and this helps with the app selection. I had a question about number 9. Play Games, what is the name of the “hidden objects” app??

  2. Ann :

    What apps are 4-7 and 11-12?

    4) Papers. However, recently another app called Mendeley has been released and its free. Its also very good. Papers was the only one of its kind at the time I bought the desktop version, so naturally sprang for the ipad version as well. Now, I would recommend Mendeley instead.
    5) Keynote. The Apple presentation program (its like powerpoint but better, on a Mac)
    6) Notebook
    7) Pages
    (they are all labelled in some way, a search on itunes will get more info if you want it)
    11) National Geographic World atlas HD
    12) Beejive IM proggie.

    You really should go have a search in itunes and read about them. Pages ands keynote might not be all that useful to you if you use a PC rather than a Mac. You’d be wanting something like Documents2Go Premium, its about $20 but for that you get creativng and editing documents in word, excel, powerpoint format, as well as being able to share online via dropbox etc.

  3. The Kindle app works great on the iPad. Every best seller you can imagine, and those that should be best sellers are available as well. Yes, available in the app store.

  4. Nikki Lewis :

    What app is number 13?

    Hi Nikki, that would be Virtuoso Piano. Its a universal app so can be on the iphone as well, and its free (there are in-app purchases available). Be careful to get the most recent which is Virtuoso Piano 3. Virtuoso Piano HD has not been updated since the middle of last year. Might be worth getting both, I guess, to see what the differences are.

    Another piano app worth having which is a lot of fun is Magic Piano.

  5. Loren Wyatt :

    The Kindle app works great on the iPad. Every best seller you can imagine, and those that should be best sellers are available as well. Yes, available in the app store.

    The reading app shown here is iBooks, which lets you buy stuff from the iBooks store… I haven’t been impressed with it at all, and have reverted to using Stanza in connection with Calibre on my computer. Calibre is an excellent organiser of content, and Stanza lets you read any format.

    Kindle might be good, but its only for Amazon books, which I find self-limiting. I’ve taken it off my i-Devices.

  6. Hey kyte, thanks for the great information. Wasn’t sure whether it was worth gettin an Ipad 2 but I guess I’ll get one now

  7. Zz :

    Hey kyte, thanks for the great information. Wasn’t sure whether it was worth gettin an Ipad 2 but I guess I’ll get one now

    Thanks for that 🙂 I keep meaning to do an update but never quite get round to it. You’ll find a lot of apps run a lot better on iPad2 (which I don’t have, myself) … Might be worth waiting until October or so, I’m kind of expecting iPad3 to emerge. If not then, soon after Christmas. I will upgrade at that time and will also get larger capacity, I am finding 16G a bit restrictive at times.

  8. Pingback: iPad "Essentials"

  9. I think that was iTunes. These days I would recommend CineXPlayer or OPlayerHD, either of which can play avis natively.

    I’ve now sold my iPad1 and am waiting to see what iPad3 brings (should be announced in March) before making a decision about which to get. I’m leaning toward a 2, simply because they can be got very cheap from some resellers.

  10. Hi Kyte,

    I dont understand why I cant transfer stuff from my laptop to my Ipad2. It worked once when I looked for the apps part in itunes and just clicked and dragged the required file onto the appropriate app. But I cant do it again. I am starting to hate itunes…….

  11. What you did when you went into itunes and the apps when your iPad was plugged in, was drag and drop to where the apps are listed in the sharing section. You cant drag direct to the apps list, not all allow sideloading. If you scroll down to the sharing section, you should be OK. If that doesn’t work, the best solution would be to log in to http://discussions.apple.com and put forward your issues there. I’m not an Apple expert, and this blog is no longer maintained except that it exists. I now post (and all these have been moved, including comments except the last day or so) at http://www.hamarana.net

Comments are closed.