The new lens

I’ve had opportunity aplenty to play with the new lens, the Tamron 18-250mm. I thought it was what I wanted, but it turns out that it isn’t. Its certainly adequate to the task but its not startling. Its flexible, in that its a go-anywhere lens when you don’t want to be carrying a bagful of other lenses (not that I have a bagful) but the reality is, when I just want to be going anywhere, I am actually wanting something more compact and lightweight than the Pentax, which weighs a ton at the best of times.

The Tamron lens is actually very heavy by comparison with my other lenses and I am not certain that the compromise is worth it. Weight is approximately equal to the camera body plsu both of the other lenses… the kit 18-55, and the Tamron 70-300. And, I find that on many occasions, I actually do want the extra 50mm reach of the 300.

So… its a compromise, and no, I don’t think the Pentax version of it would be any better. And expensive disappointment but I think I’ll sell it and get myself a couple of decent primes (got my eye on a Pentax 35mm LTD f/2.8 and a Tamron 90mm Macro f/4) and a new bridge camera for everyday, probably the Panasonic FZ35. I also bought a Panasonic TZ7 in recent months and find that even though the LCD screen is of much higher quality than the usual (460k pixels), my eyes are still unable to accommodate… and in bright sunlight, its as useless as the rest of them… so that too will be sold.

