GPS on the iPhone

I don’t think I had previously blogged that I bought a new iPhone back in July. Its the 3G[S] (“S” apparently stands for “speed”, making it much faster than the previous 3G iphone, which I never owned. Its much faster than my 2G). But the phone isn’t what I want to post about. Its about GPS applications.

I’ve done a kind of roundup of the available apps in Australia, and posted that at Mactalk forums, so I am not going to repost here.

I will be posting about the relative performances of Some of the apps from time to time, though, and in the spotlight are the Tomtom and Sygic applications, both of which have had major overhauls this week

Tomtom:
Major upgrade with latest maps, text to speech, improved accuracy, updated IQ routes, the latest safety camera database, and audible over-speed warnings. The audio warnings are now customisable, but notably absent is the ability to warn for particular other POIs, as is standard in the Tomtom dedicated devices.

There is also an additional menu item called “Help Me” which addresses security and safety, by placing you on a map and giving two button options, one to phone for help and one to drive to help Phone for help gives all nearby Police, doctor, hospital, roadside assistance (NRMA in Australia) and at the top of the list, Emergency services which is 000 in Australia, 911 in the US and whatever in other countries. These values are automatically added according to your location. Its a nice touch.

Sygic
Major upgrade to latest maps, improved safety camera database and separation of redlight cameras from speed cameras. As always all POIs can be warned for, as well as cameras etc, and overspeed warnings.

4 thoughts on “GPS on the iPhone

  1. I don’t usually write on blogs but had to on yours. You have a very easy to read writing style. A lot of people don’t have that touch, they just drone on and on in the most boring way. But not you – thanks! Don’t have time to read everything here at the moment, I found your site while looking for something else on Bing. But I’ve bookmarked your homepage and will visit it regularly to read your latest postings. I love reading web sites about geocaching. It’s such an exciting subject. Thanks again for a very educational site! Visit my site if you’d like to read more.

  2. As a Mac user I guess it was a logical progression for you to the iPhone. I’m using Android on a HTC Magic and I’m very happy with it.

  3. Michael :

    As a Mac user I guess it was a logical progression for you to the iPhone. I’m using Android on a HTC Magic and I’m very happy with it.

    I would have an Android phone now, if I was going to switch from iPhone. They have a great deal to recommend them.

  4. Sofia Ahr :

    I don’t usually write on blogs but had to on yours. You have a very easy to read writing style.

    Thanks for your very kind remarks, Sofia 🙂

Comments are closed.