I Quit!

I quit my job. That is, I reverted to my previous role as a casual RN in the mental health system. I found that working as I had been had become completely untenable for a number of reasons, not the least of which was the fact that I had burnt out. I don’t mean that in its lighter sense, being sick of the job (though there was that) and the environment (which played a massive role)… I am talking about the burnout that creeps up on you and you don’t even notice. The kind that makes you think you are the only one who can do something, who’s right for a particular client, who understands better than anyone. I was forced to face my shortcomings and realised that there was no alternative… I reached my physical and emotional limits.

I will be retiring from the workforce entirely, once the mortgage is paid off. I’ve been wrecked for way too long.

3 thoughts on “I Quit!

  1. Thanks, Michael. Not there yet, alas, still a few thousand to pay off, but I feel “lighter”. I was grabbed by one of the other managers within minutes of leaving the previous job, and have been doing work for them ever since. Still in the community which suits my health, and on short term contracts which means I can’t get involved in the political crapola, I just do the job. I’m working with the oldies now, too, and that also suits me better than the adult general stuff.

Comments are closed.