Australian Native Mynah

nativemynahsmall-499x500

The shot above is one I am quite proud of. I was out with my friend Gary in Brooklyn, and we went to an area where there were a few people picnicking, but generally there wasn’t much to disturb the local wildlife. The little mynah came down and landed in a young tree quite close to where we were standing, and placed itself conveniently close for a shot. I still had to zoom to 300mm, but it was an excellent result.

A larger version can be seen on my Redbubble site

It has also been accepted to the Pentax Gallery, along with another I expected would be rejected.

See my photos featured in the PENTAX Photogallery

4 thoughts on “Australian Native Mynah

  1. Yeah, I know, Michael… just couldnt find the right theme and when I did, it didnt work. I guess I was looking for 90% photo and 10% text but most themes assume a different balance.

    Thanks for your comment đŸ™‚

  2. Hi!
    I love the picture!
    I live in St Marys in Western Sydney and found a little baby Aussie Mynah that is running around my neck and nibbling at my hair right now!
    She doubled in size in a week – the rate at which they grow! We (I and my partner) have been feeding him/her with live meal worms from the pet shop and so far she seems to be doing excellently.She has the same pattern of markings as in your picture except that the white areas are gray, so the dappling on the breast is less distinct.
    All I can guess is that there are sub-groups because all the Aussie mynahs around here are coloured the same.

  3. They are such dear wee things. Sadly the local population where I live in the outer burbs of Newcastle has been decimated by the imported Indian Miners. Horrid things they are, I havent seen a sparrow for years around here, and they are even fighting off the doves, wood pigeons and magpies. Worse than starlings, and they were bad enough!

Comments are closed.