Pentax on the Never-Never

Well, I did it. I finally made a decision (as I have done so many times in the past) to buy the digital SLR. JB Hifi had a special on the Pentax I was interested in, and so I went and got one, taking my CC to its absolute limit.

I’m going to be very busy paying it off (well not really, it will be paid for on next pay, into the CC account plus some extra, so I wont be paying interest on it), and explaining to my GP why that was more important than making an appointment with the podiatrist. Though it seems to me there are some things which just cannot be explained in any satisfactory way. I’ve been zeroing in on this purchase for 2 years, I have vacillated so often that when I did have money for it, I ended up spending on something else, and today just seemed like it was the right day to do the thing.

The camera is heavier than I would have liked, but it feels solid and I like the fact that its weather and dust sealed. The only entry for dust is on a lens change. The lens which came with it is the best of the Pentax small zooms and is worth around $250-290 on its own, and the body usually costs around $599 for a total of $850-900. There are two versions of the lens about, this is the more expensive one, a later version. I ended up paying $660, so I felt I got a pretty good deal. No doubt it will be cheaper again after Christmas, but so is everything, later, and I can’t be fussed with worrying about that.

I’ve only used it a few times so far but what I am finding is that its really easy to get used to, I don’t need live view, the optical viewfinder is just excellent, the clarity of shots, even bad ones, beats the crap out of any digital camera I have owned so far. What more could one want. Any strikes against it? Not so far.

Nothing to show yet. I’m still getting used to it and the weather was less than ideal today for a dSLR learner. It will come, though, and I can’t wait 🙂

4 thoughts on “Pentax on the Never-Never

  1. oh Michael I just love it. It might not be the latest and greatest (Like a Canon 50D or 5d Mk II, or a Nikon D90 or D700) but its just exactly what I want. The next thing, of course, is to spend bazillions of dollars on super lenses.

  2. Hi!

    I have followed your link from the ausphotography forum. I just had to say that I bought a Pentax K200D from JB in August and I love it!!!

    Looking forward to seeing some of your photos….

    k8

  3. Thanks for dropping by, Kate. I am still coming to terms with not having everything on auto (although I know I can… I just want to be a bit creative)… and also with not having that superzoom at my fingertips. But I am surprised to find that I do like the manual zoom and find it not to be the PITA I thought it might be. In fact when I used the Fuji s8000fd yesterday I kept wanting to reach for the zoom on the lens. Silly me.

    I have posted a few pix on my redbubble site, but not in ausphotography yet.

    And it seems I have caught something known as LBA, having put in an order this morning to DCW for a Tamron 70-300mm. dearie me, this could be my undoing.

Comments are closed.