Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ28-K

The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ28-K bridge camera is the one which is now at the top of my list of possibles. Its not due for release until September (actual date not known right now) but on looking at its specs, I think its probably the one for me.

Yes, I was seriously considering that Fujifilm S100FS but I found later that it doesn’t do RAW. The RAW thats available with Olympus cameras is something called “Olympus RAW” and I don’t know how that differs from any other kind of RAW but it set me wondering about proprietary formats and I did not want that either.

So I am left with what seems to be the only other bridge camera (aka superzoom camera) which does RAW, and thats the Panasonic range… specifically in my case, the FZ28. It will also focus down to 1cm for macro shots, and zoom to 486mm (in 35mm terms) or 18x zoom which is more than enough zoom for most people, most of the time. Its 10 megapixels and I know thats quite enough for me because currently I only use 5 megapixels in my 10 megapixel MJU1020. Also advantageous is its ability to take 8G mem cards. The 2G limitation in Olympus would soon become a pest.

According to the conventional wisdom, Panasonic cams are faster to start up, and faster to shoot and have much less shutter lag than the Olympus range. This may be due to a number of things but one of the aspects affecting shutter lag is the kind of shutter… the Panasonic is mechanical rather than electronic and this is, it seems, a very good thing.

I’m ready to buy now, so I guess I will be paying close to RRP for this one, I’ve seen prices quoted from $459 through to $699… and $749 is the RRP. I’m not going to shop around much, I am pretty sure this is my next cam and I just can’t wait to get my hands on it. I believe its going to be the best all-rounder I have had so far. Pix below lifted from the Panasonic site so as not to steal bandwidth.

2 thoughts on “Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ28-K

  1. You’re a tease … I didn’t know about this. I’m using a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3 for everyday shots, but this looks fantastic for the next level.

    I like the TZ23 for the wide angle and web video quality. It’s also fast to load up.

    The downside for me is shooting sport photos; just not quite good enough for zoom and focus.

  2. 🙂 Michael. You should have a look when its released. There is a lens converter goody as well, and a teleconverter that takes the zoom to something in excess of 800mm (in 35mm terms)… I guess that would be about a 30x zoom. There will also be a macro converter and some filters too. I’m looking forward to it. But even without the extras, its a good all-rounder. And your sport shots will be a snack!

Comments are closed.