New iPhone as predicted

Well, Aussies and others can now get the iPhone with warranty within their own country. I dont know what deals Aple has cooked up in other lands, but here, it seems the iPhone will only be available via Optus and Vodafone (Voda doesnt seem to have any option to preorder, its not even mentioned on site yet). Its advertised in the Apple store but any effort to buy online is redirected to a page which tells you to go to Optus and Voda.

The phone is supposed to be sold worldwide for $199 (8G version, in USD) so that means it will be less than half the price I paid for my first gen iPhone last August. It will be released on July 11.

Am I going to get one? probably not. I wouldn’t mind having it but not at the cost of having to go on a contract. If its available outright I will reconsider and only if the hackers have managed to do their work on the firmware, because I refuse to be locked into any one network, and most certainly not for 2 years at a time. I am a dedicated prepaid user who moves from one network to another according to my calling patterns and usage at any given time. Currently I am on Telstra, because its prepaid suits my current habits.

iPhone is a darn good phone, and a hellishly entertaining toy. If you are already contracted to Optus or Vodafone and don’t mind being there for longer, and are in need of a new phone, you might want to give the iPhone some consideration. It is 3G, and it has a lot more going for it than the old one. And, well, its cheap.

Features in brief:
3G, A-GPS, Microsoft Exchange Activesync, the App Store, push email, push calendar, integration is crossplatform (OSX and Windows anyway) with MobileMe (the dotMac replacement) and your desktop and/or laptop. Other features are similar to old iPhone. Go read if you want to know.

Knock yerselves out.

3 thoughts on “New iPhone as predicted

  1. Looks good! But I already have a phone which I really can’t justify replacing just yet. Maybe next year…

  2. There ya go, must be okay with the typepad antispam plugin. I’m happy too 🙂

    Oh yeah, I am not switching. I do have a nextG account with Telstra but Apple have closed all the usual loopholes for getting a non-activated phone so I am just not interested. EDGE is fast enough for me, for the minimal online stuff I do when not at home or within cooee of a wifi network

Comments are closed.