“Naked” DSL

That is, ADSL or DSL without having to be connected to a telephone company. I don’t know what happens in other countries, but in Australia you cannot get ADSL without also having a telephone landline account.

This is set to change in November when iiNet, one of Australia’s largest ISPs starts offering naked DSL.

Read the article in the Syndey Morning Herald online edition.

What does it mean? Well, for me it means not having to fork out to Telstra for a phone account I don’t really need. I also use VoIP which means I can use that for outgoing calls. As far as incoming are concerned, I may organise myself a DID, but my number is a Sydney number so probably long chats coming in will be a thing of the past.

Apparently the plans will cost more than standard plans because of the fees charged by Telstra for ULL, but unless they are higher than what I currently pay Telstra, plus the additional DID cost, I’ll be switching as soon as Internode offers them. I won’t switch unless its financially beneficial to me 🙂

Anyway, Internode (my ISP) is saying Q1 2008, so it will be interesting to read about the experiences of iiNet users before that.

[Edit: 22nd October, 2007] Sadly, it seems I won’t be able to get naked DSL after all. My connection is from a RIM to a remote exchange and back to the regular exchange. I’m on Telstra lines and equipment and unless a miracle occurs, that isn’t going to change any time soon. And Telstra isn’t going to let the line rental go. Oh well, nice dream while it lasted.

