Two new toys

First: a Pinnacle Hybrid TV Stick, so I pretty much have a TV in the mac + PVR. I ordered it through the IceTV site and so have a 3/12 free run on their guide, which is much more informative than the standard broadcast guide. You are supposed to be able to connect a VCR as well, but for some reason the connectors are more compatible with recent generation DVD and STB than my not-that-old-vcr. I wanted to convert my purchased videotapes to DVD but I guess that’s not going to happen any time soon.

Second: I’ve caved in an ordered an iPhone 8G. Yes, I know they aren’t released in Australia, and I know they are locked to the AT&T network, but I’ll be running a bunch of freely available hacks and hopefully will have a fully functional iPhone, running on my iSIM, by next weekend. The phone itself arrives on Tuesday but I’m not even going to consider hacking until I am on days off, and fully alert. I don’t want to brick it, and have, instead, a very expensive paperweight.

11 thoughts on “Two new toys

  1. Hi im also contemplating purchasing an 8gig iphone through Voitech Solutions, just wondering if they have shipped the iphone to you? if is it still sealed as original? Im hoping to get a iphone to hack over the long weekend =) all the best and good luck with your iphone

    Kind Regards,

    Walter

  2. Hi Walter. It shipped yesterday, I’ve received the tracking number, so being as how I paid for express platinum, it ought to be at my local post office this afternoon. I imagine it will be sealed as original, as far as I know the VoiTech guy imported them in bulk from Mac-pro.com which is the only US seller who will ship direct to Australia. Without that, there’s all manner of complications to go trough. I’ve had a lot of email contacts with Voitech and the guy seems to be 100% on the level. I’m getting quite excited about my new iPhone…

  3. Thanks Kyte… Im getting a relative from San Fransisco to send me one. I read one of your comments that you will use anysim to unlock, Ive read that ppl that use anysim have 3 chances to unlock then it bricks, are you aware of this? I would love to hear your success unlocking your iphone.

    All the best,

    Walter

  4. Well, it all went fairly well. Unlocked now but not without a couple of hiccups. Anysim was just fine. I had trouble with apptapp installer.

    I followed the instructions at
    HacktheiPhone but I also made reference to ModMyiPhone as well. Many people recommend the MMI site as being the best. The Hackintosh instructions are contradictory in places, but it all worked out in the end. No bricks here.

    Actually I think the phone is perfect for me. I wanted wifi for those times i would be sitting in the loungeroom and not feeling like moving to the computer, or sitting in a cafe waiting for friends to arrive, and I have no need of a phone data plan so I have no intention of pursuing a GPRS connection… too expensive anyway on my prepaid iSim… I can make calls and send SMS… no MMS but given that I have only ever sent three, no big loss. And its going to server perfectly as an organiser and entertainment machine, as well as an ebook reader. Its all here, everything I want. 🙂

    AND its gorgeous.!!

  5. hahaha im happy for you, since you successfully unlocked it I’m giving my relatives in usa the go ahead to fedex my iphone. I might follow what you did to unlock. BTW whats firmware is your iphone? I hope my firmware is a little dated. Thanks again for sharing your iphone hack =) all the best Kyte

  6. You need firmware version 1.0.2. Anything else and it won’t work. Both those sites give the download locations of all the tools you need. Additionally there are rumours about that the next iphone firmware update will basically wreck all our non AT&T phones, so I will not be updating mine again until the next series of hacks are out.

    You might want to get in touch with the Voitech guy and see if he still has any left of the current shipment, rather than get rellies to send. It seems to be a tad cheaper thru Voitech. Do your sums.

Comments are closed.