More on the new iMac

I have commented that having Bootcamp on the iMac would be really convenient, in that one might want to dual boot with Windows. I was wrong: that is, I was wrong for me. Bootcamp is certainly easy enough to set up and install to, but unless you have a real need for an independently running Windows system, don’t bother. I have only one program I really really must have Windows for, because there is nothing like it on Mac, and for that, I sure don’t need a whole Windows partition.

So, in the end, I’ve chosen VMWare. Why not Parallels? A really silly reason, I suppose. I prefer VMware because it lists the virtual machines in a small window, whereas Parallels drops icons all over your desktop. I prefer a less cluttered appearance. Why would it be an issue? Well, given that a virtual machine is just that, and me being as I am… I am wanting to play with more than one OS. Currently I have XP and Vista installed, as well as Kubuntu (Ubuntu with the KDE desktop). I had Window98 but it was too painful so I have dropped it. I’m going to try to get BeOS installed but it will probably fail, it has since VPC6 which it quite liked (hardware issues… always hardware issues with BeOS) and later on when I find my install floppies (they MUST be around here somewhere), I’ll install OS/2 Warp 4 (aka Merlin). And many more. I have the odd Mandrake Linux and Redhat lying about as well. Yes, I know I must be nuts.

In the meantime, Vista and XP work beautifully, and the both Parallels and VMWare have the capacity to show Windows programs on the Mac desktop without the intrusion of a visible OS Window. The screenshot is of VMWare’s Unity, with Internet Explorer accessing Hamarana, and a game of Freecell (which, naturally, I lost).

Mac and Windows Unity
Clicking on the image will get you a very large one if you really want a closer look.

You can also see Vista’s start menu extended in the bottom corner of the screen. I extended it for the shot, normally you get just the start button down there, as in Vista. You don’t get the whole taskbar. You can also see toward the end of the mac dock, a couple of icons for IE, windows explorer, and freecell.

[edit] After I wrote all this, I decided I should really look into Parallels more. My initial Vista install failed but I have reinstalled from the VMWare virtual machine (parallels can do that, I don’t think VMWare can) and now have a screenie of Parallels, Vista and coherence working very well.

coherence
Again, click on the image for the large version. Interesting how the entire taskbar is visible with coherence/Parallels. Its not really needed and it looks fugly. IMO of course. 🙂

