Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows: No Spoilers here.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Deathly_Hallows I was at the bookstore yesterday morning at 9am, lining up with other Potter fans, to get my hands on the last in the Harry Potter Series. I have been impressed by how J.K. Rowling has presented the previous books, beginning with the first, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, when Harry at age 11 discovers he is a wizard, right through the succeeding books, each one a little more grown up than the last, allowing the readers to grow with Harry.

Each book has become a little darker than the one before, and the last book is no exception. The thing that is an exception for me is that I just didn’t enjoy it as much as the others. There were too many loose ends, too many unanswered questions. When a series ends, I want it to end. The epilogue certainly lets us know that there will be no more Potter stories (at least not from Rowling, I’ll list some fanfic sites in a moment) but during the course of the book, much still remains unexplained.

I’ll read it again, as I always do, to see if perhaps I just read too fast and missed things which would clarify my questions, but I have a feeling I shan’t be satisfied.

Perhaps the “Encyclopaedia” which Rowling hinted she might write, will answer all other questions. I don’t know. But for now, I am quite disappointed.

Fanfic Sites Which Look Decent
Mugglenet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter Fan Fiction
Portkey.org Fanfiction

Of course there are many more, and I’ll likely make recommendations regarding good fanfic somewhere in the blog in the future.

One thought on “Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows: No Spoilers here.

  1. Yeah, I’m kinda disappointed too. After all of these years, I had a lot of questions I had wanted answers to and a lot of things I expected to happen that didn’t: Dudley’s dementor, an unexpected magician, what Harry’s parents actually did for a living (Sirius too for that matter), etc. Plus, what happened to the majority of characters that actually lived (though there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of survivors, I mean she completely wiped out the Marauders). She didn’t even mention the majority of the Weasleys or Luna, McGonagoll, the Malfoys (excluding that we know that Malfoy had a son). Plus what did the trio (and Ginny) end up doing. Oh, well. I’ve rambled enough. Bu, really was a little disappointed.

Comments are closed.