Tetris

I’ve been a fan of Tetris since having the original game on my Amiga 500, 15 years ago. It’s a clear winner in the longevity stakes.

I haven’t ever found a Tetris clone which quite had the same feel to it, although I have played many. since moving to the Mac, I haven’t bothered. Until today, that is. I went to Tetris.com and discovered Tetris Zone. It only gives 10 minutes of gameplay in the trial version but its enough. I bought it right away.

Its available for both Mac and Windows (and is Vista compatible). Theres an online ranking system, your scores are automatically stored.

macscreenie

Min Specs PC:
* Windows 2000/XP/Vista
* 512MB RAM
* 64MB Video Card
* 65MB Disk Space

Min Specs OSX:
* Intel or PPC-based Mac (G3 or better)
* Mac OSX 10.3 or higher
* 256MB RAM
* 32MB Video Card
* 65MB Disk Space

AND, its only $US9.95. Excellent value.

[Edit] The music within the game is a combination of the old Tetris theme and a rockin’ version of Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy. I suddenly found myself whistling along as I was playing. hrmmm.

2 thoughts on “Tetris

  1. I was only saying to someone a few minutes ago what a fantastic computer the Amiga was and how it was so far ahead of its time.

  2. Indeed it was. Back in 1987 when the A1000 was released, it was already doing desktop video, and its screen could display 4096 colours, when PC was (I think, but perhaps still monochrome) 4 colours CGA, and the Mac was a 9″ black and white screen… not even shades of grey.

    Its really a shame that its heritage was the C64 which was primarily a games machine. It had a lot going for it… many current PC programs had their genesis on the Amiga. Real3D is one I can think of right away, but there were many more ported over once Commodore went belly-up.

    Did you know that Gates had tried to purchase the AmigaOS in its first few years? In a way its a shame they wouldn’t sell to him. It would now be THE OS to have, instead of being left behind.

Comments are closed.