Spam vs Ham

There has been a definite upsurge in the sheer quantity of spam on the net in the past month or two. On this blog alone, the comment spam of the past four weeks is almost one third of the Comment spam received in the previous 18 months.

Additionally, an email address which I use for contact purposes both here and on various sites I might sign up at (eg 12by12Daily and others of its ilk) is collecting spam at the rate of about 200 a day, whereas its normal used to be around 20-30.

Add to that the inevitable barrage of chain-emails from friends who are relatively new to the net and have no idea (and don’t want to be told, either) that this fantastic cute email they just sent you is rubbish and has been round the world a dozen times in the last 10 years… (I am contemplating changing my email address and not giving it to anyone I know!)

There’s almost no ham. At Christmastime!

2 thoughts on “Spam vs Ham

  1. I’ve noticed the upsurge in spam too. Fortunately akismet has stopped most of it on my Word Press sites and Google has stopped most of it for gmail.

    The numbers though have almost trebled in a matter of weeks.

    I no longer check the gmail spam. I just let Google delete them after a period of time, which means I might be missing some genuine emails, but 3000 or more spam messages are too many to check.

Comments are closed.