Labor Party Leadership Challenge

Here we go again, regular as clockwork, its almost Christmas so lets have a challenge to the leadership of the Labor Party.

On this particular occasion, I think it should have happened a long time ago. In fact, I never supported Kim Beazley being leader again after he has failed to make an impression on the Australian voting public many times in the past. I’m sure he’s a really nice man, and he means well, but he’s a fence sitter, and he just does not have the necessaries to lead the Labor Party to victory in 2007.

Something the Labor Caucus voters on Monday night really need to be aware of (but they don’t read my blog so they won’t give a rats ass what I am saying here)… is that last time round, it was not that the Liberal party won (ya hear that, John Howard?) it was that the Labor Party lost. Its a fine distinction with the same ultimate result… but with Kevin Rudd and Julia Gillard leading the party, there is a very very BIG probability of a Labor win. If Kim Beazley is re-elected, then the Labor Caucus will have consigned us to another term with Howard (or, god forbid, Costello) running the show.

Please God let the voters see sense on Monday night.

8 thoughts on “Labor Party Leadership Challenge

  1. I expect Rudd to win: I think he’s too calculating a man to risk it otherwise.

    Rudd doesn’t do a thing for me except remind me of how much I hate Sunday School.

    Barring the rodent’s demise, I still can’t see the ALP getting over the line.

  2. This is how I would like to see it:

    I really can’t see the ALP winning so Rudd gets the blame and is axed. By that time Julia has had several months as deputy and has really shone and gets the top job! Yaaayy …

    (Although if I had a vote on Monday it would Julia for No 1 position and Rudd No 2 but the ALP just ain’t got the gumption to do that … the poor butch guys would feel emasculated.)

  3. Guys, come on, a bit of positive thinking. Another term of Liberal government is going to destroy the country. Its time for a change. (just as I think we need to dispense with Labor at NSW State Level. Its time for a change there, too)

    Ron… your theory might be right but my feeling is, if the butch guys think they will lose, its a good way to get rid of Julia… have her in the number 1 spot, lose the election, and then ax HER rather than Kevin, who will then get top spot. So here’s the deal… if Julia ends up Leader its because those poor fools don’t think they have a prayer anyway. That said, I did not think it was an option, I thought Kevin was the only one going up against it, and Julia is supporting him because he’s promised her the deputy position. I am probably wrong, I often am…

  4. Well, it’s Kevin and Julia. Now to see if they can do something about ousting the incumbents. Its time.

  5. Spoke to my 71yo dad today for the first time in a while. He used to be a communist (remember them). He reckons Rudd is a DLP man like Steve Bracks. That was spoken as a negative.

  6. I remember the DLP, but not enough to be able to criticise it. If I asked my old Dad (which I can’t because he’s no longer with us… He’d have just had his 96th birthday) he would have insisted Howard was doing all the right things.

    So.. what do you think of little Kev?

Comments are closed.