Christmas is approaching

Its the time of year in which I really start missing my Mum and Dad. Its also the time of year in which I start turning into Scrooge. Not because I have no streak of generosity or giving within me, but because of the increasing pressures on people to spend more and more money.

I was watching commercial TV last night and it seemed to me that every second advertisement was designed to encourage spending more and more and more (not just for Christmas, but just generally). There were a number of different advertisements for cars, and I got to thinking, just how many cars can one person want to buy? Nobody can afford to change their car every year, and yet, manufacturers spend billions in developing and creating new models which they then expect people will fall over themselves to buy. We only have 20 million people in this country … geeze! Then there IS the Christmas thing which is looming. When did *you* last buy someone a car for Christmas? Or a house full of furniture? Are these advertisers serious???

Oh yeah… and the junkmail is coming thick and fast. Every second item seems to be full of toys for kids. But, when you get past the dolls and toylike things, you find BIG PRICE ITEMS! When did a computer or a bicycle or a mobile phone become toys, for heavens sake??? I’m over it.

BAH, HUMBUG!!

6 thoughts on “Christmas is approaching

  1. I got really annoyed with Christmas ads on TV last night too.

    Then again I’m getting so fed up with the poor quality of free-to-air TV programming these days that I’d be surprised if my total hours of watching for any given week added up to 4 or 5 hours.

  2. I spend more and more time on ABC than I ever thought I would. I’m contemplating Foxtel. Does that come ad-laden?

  3. We used to have Austar but dropped it because of the ads and that was a few years ago. I think the ads have got worse.

  4. I took a look at the programs for foxtel for the next week, and really, theres nothing I want to see, really. *shrug* maybe I am not such a TV addict as I thought.

    BAH HUMBUG

  5. Me too, probably. I’ve discovered another games site which caters really well for we Mac users, as well as Wintel users, plus theres a lot of online games so you can play and try before even downloading. bigfishgames.com 🙂

Comments are closed.