Windows Vista RC2

Well, its almost upon us, just brinking on release.

Screenshots here and here. Its much prettier than Windows used to be… but they have, apparently, in their wisdom, left so much out of the basic system that we are used to, you have to go looking for things that were just right there, or at the end of a right mouse click…

And the pricing is going to be hideous… there are five variants: Basic, Business, Premium, Ultimate and of course Server. According to my friend John, the top of the range (Ultimate I guess) will be around $400US. He also tells me the minimum hardware configuration of 800Mhz, 512Mb and DirectX9 will only get you a really feature reduced version, with most of the GUI goodies falling by the wayside.

You need a minimum 800Mhz, 512MB and a DirectX 9 capable video card… but a heck of a lot of stuff gets disabled at lower speeds, like no translucent titlebars, etc… they have a special ‘crippled’ UI for low end systems. To have the standard “Premium” UI you need 1Ghz, 1GB, 128MB Video, and 15GB of drive space.

I guess there isnt anyone I know who will like this new Windows… it will look too Mac-like for them 🙂

6 thoughts on “Windows Vista RC2

  1. I have no problem with it looking Mac-like but I do have problem with it’s price.

    I don’t think I will upgrade but will wait until I buy a new computer and get Vista as OEM.

  2. Yeah, I don’t think I would bother upgrading if I was still a Windoze user, the price in Australia will be really over the top. I think I would probably wait until the first or second service pack, too.

  3. Whoops … sorry about the double posting … my broadband is VERY slow at the moment and I didn’t think the first comment had gone through.

    Speaking of M$ ‘upgrades’, I installed Win IE7 this week and there is NO way it will convert me from Firefox (I also installed beta FF 2.00 yesterday and it’s so much better than IE).

  4. Thats okay, saw the second one and deleted it. Yeah I hear IE7 was less, rather than more. I prefer FF mainly because of the extensions, but for just browsing I prefer Safari.

  5. Look at the tier of price and then the restrictions of re-loading the OS after a failure or corruption od the OS.
    I left the typo in because that about summarizes it… odd!
    I’m onto linux but recognize a popular demand for Mac Os.
    I reckon there’ll be a huge walk away by Windows users once they see the terms!
    People are more OS savvy than the dependant days where they were locked into one OS!

Comments are closed.