Sandisk Cruzer Micro 2G

I seem to have lost my old Imation 256mb drive, which is a bloody pest because it has on it everything I was working on for my job, and that cannot be replaced, I will have to start over…

I had already decided to u/g anyway, as the 256mb was no longer adequate to hold my stuff, and had decided on a 2G drive, as it was a nice balance between cost and capacity.

The Sandisk Cruzer Micro 2G caught my eye for one reason alone and that was its size (its tiny, though not as tiny as the Imation). The other feature I liked was that it has no cap, its retractable instead. I did not know that it has this thing called U3 which is Windows only and is like a little apps area of the drive, complete with its own launchbar. I was impressed with the notion of having an on-board virus scanner… its all very well having virus scanners on host machines, but you don’t know if they are updated often enough and if you can have some control over it, well and good for the protection of your own files. I paid $99 for it at Officeworks yesterday. I believe RRP is around $179.

Further exploration of the notion of apps on a flashdrive revealed PortableApps.com and of course the U3.com site. These apps require absolutely no installation of anything on the host machine and there is a veritable truckload of them (relatively speaking). The apps listed at portableapps don’t seem to require U3 which is an app in itself… its a fascinating concept… I suppose its not long before we have Operating Systems (mac OS7 is already available) as portables and we will be able to run whatever we want on whichever host machine we are working at.

Tech moves fast. When I think of how when I was a kid, I did not even have TV, let alone the stuff we have today… I keep getting blown away…

2 thoughts on “Sandisk Cruzer Micro 2G

  1. I’m glad you are happy with the new gadg. I guess its a different world now to the old bootable OS, now the imediately available apps via whatever memory device.
    Handy on all fronts!

  2. Yup, ’tis good. You can get a Firefox/Thunderbird/Sunbird combo to run on it. Also OpenOffice and Skype. We live in interesting times.

Comments are closed.