Change.

I’ve been around long enough now to remember what life was like before television came to this country, and when pubs didnt open until the afternoon, and closed at 10pm, and when you could mostly understand what people were saying, and when terms in common use stemmed from the UK, not America. I remember the family sitting down to dinner at the same time every night, with no members missing, and the meal being cooked in the kitchen, not bought at a drivethrough. I remember when it was the parents who made decisions in the family and the kids accepted thats how things were, and it was no big deal. I remember when swearing was unusual, so if a swearword was used you knew that whatever had prompted it must have been pretty bad. I remember when I was in school, having to conform to a set of behavioural standards which were not difficult to maintain because they embodied respect for everyone. What the hell happened??

