Abandoned Creatures

Why do people do this? I just don’t get it.

There’s a cat hanging around my place, hes adult, male, obviously not neutered or microchipped and he just doesnt seem to belong to anyone at all. In the dreadful storms last Saturday night, he spent the entire time either huddled against the house or prowling around crying. The way I figure it is this: even if he has owners in my near vicinity, they do not deserve to have him.

A couple of days ago I decided to give him some dry food and water. The poor little beggar was so hungry, he even set aside his terror of me to eat from a bowl at my feet – in a state of hyperalertness. My two cats were indoors, of course, being insanely jealous (but all was forgiven a couple of hours later).

The current plan is: feed him, tame him, and either a) find him a home (and I already have one lady interested) or b) send him to the RSPCA for whatever end becomes him at that point.

The question which needs asking, though, is why people acquire animals which they then do not care for. Especially cats. I think a lot of people get cats because of a mistaken perception that they can look after themselves and don’t need the same kind of attention as dogs do. Well I’m here to tell you that if cats are left to look after themselves, they become a danger to native wildlife and any birds in the area, and they become feral. But if you care for them and make sure they are indoors and safe at night, they will give as much joy as any dog does (in fact I have become convinced that mine think they *are* dogs), and they won’t cause problems by going about caterwauling all over the neighbourhood, or becoming feral hunters.

This is the third cat of the feral kind which I have begun this exercise on. The first now lives with me, the second was desperate to be loved by someone, but so ill (I think he probably had Feline HIV) I had to take him to the RSPCA to be euthanased, and this is number 3, but he’s reasonably healthy for a cat who has been fending for himself. I do hope he’s able to respond to people and other cats properly, I would love him to go to the new home which was offered last night.

Keep all your fingers crossed, people, this little guy deserves more than he’s been given so far.

4 thoughts on “Abandoned Creatures

  1. I was having a chat to one of my early morning walking mates (a dog owner) the other morning on the breakwater who mentioned that Vets are finding business very hard these days as no one wants to pay to treat their animals. Like you, I don’t understand why people get animals if they are not prepared to look after them – they don’t seem to register that having a pet means commitment to caring for that animal longterm (similar to having children in fact…..but not as stressful).

  2. Its not a cheap business. I don’t think that people even think about it. They get a cute little kitten or pup and as soon as the issue of treatments comes up, they bail out. Responsibility to other creatures (even humans) seems to have gone by the by in recent years, and society cares only for itself. We have become politically correct and socially bankrupt.

  3. Report: This guy is a real tough nut. He’s happily taking food but refusing to be friendly. I may have to abandon the project entirely, I doubt I will ever get to the point of being able to bag him.

  4. I like this guy he’s just bein an induvidual and playing power to the point of aceptance, he’ll keep distant, show him the others he’ll see what side it’s buttered on and cross the line even though he represents himself as a big boof-head~

Comments are closed.