Yahoo Groups

I’m subscribed to a couple of Macintosh specific Yahoo groups. Were it not for the need to have a Yahoo ID to join, I wouldn’t have bothered with that, either.

Sometime around the 6th of this month, Yahoo changed the “look” of the email. Now it was supposed to be easier to read blah blah blah… but to my mind the only change that occurred was the resetting of preferences for one to receive HTML mails. I went to check in my account and it seemed that was not the only thing that was reset.

Now, my preferences NOT to allow just anyone to add me to their group (it can be done without your permission with these settings) had been reset to allow this behaviour.

So: If you are in a Yahoo group… make sure your settings are as YOU want them, not as Yahoo wants them.

I hate this kind of thing.

3 thoughts on “Yahoo Groups

  1. I noticed upon joining a new group recently that there was NO option to NOT receive html emails – you simply had the choice of ‘html’ and ‘html (Adavanced)’ on the new group. blah

  2. Argh. Maybe if you go into “My groups” and “edit groups” you’ll have an option for “standard” which i am HOPING (but don’t know for sure) might be the non-html version.

    If its not then I am probably going to bail out of receiving emails at all, from yahoo groups. If it has to be html then I’ll read on the web. No advantage to getting emails at all.

Comments are closed.