True Blue: John Williamson

I don’t think I have ever really REALLY listened to the words of this song. I’ve been affected by the music, I’ve heard some of the words, but I’ve never really listened. Tonight, I did. And I realised that in my lifetime, that True Blue Aussie has, indeed, all but disappeared.

Hey True Blue, don’t say you’re gone…
Say you’ve knocked off for a smoko,
And you’ll be back later on
Hey true blue, hey true blue
Give it to me straight, Face to face
Are you really disappearing?
Just another dying race
Hey True Blue

True Blue, is it me and you?
Is it Mum and Dad, is it a cockatoo?
Is it standing by your mate
When he’s in a fight
Or just vegemite
True Blue I’m asking you

Hey True blue can you bear the load
Will you tie it up with wire
Just to keep the show on the road
Hey true blue hey true blue
Now be fair dinkum
Is your heart still there?
If they sell us out like spongecake
Do you really care?
Hey true blue

True Blue, is it me and you?
Is it Mum and Dad, is it a cockatoo?
Is it standing by your mate
When she’s in a fight
Or just vegemite
True Blue I’m asking you
True Blue, is it me and you?
Is it Mum and Dad, is it a cockatoo?
Is it standing by your mate
When he’s in a fight
Or just vegemite
True Blue
True Blue….

Vegemite is not true blue anymore… So what does it mean to be True Blue? Does anyone remember?

60 thoughts on “True Blue: John Williamson

  1. I’ve been around Australia and half way around the world. I’ve lived in rural Australia and the big city. The sad fact is that the city doesn’t have the true blue Identity. You go to the outback and speak to people who have lived there all their lives, now that’s the true conservative and true blue aussie spirit.

  2. “Anyway, on the topic of aussies losing their identity,

    out here in the bush (im from SA)i gotta tell you shes still alive and kicking.

    but on the other hand Ive taken a few trips to the city (Adelaide) and the difference is just bloody frightening.
    now the entire concept of the yarn has buggered off, mainly thanks to american TV as far as i can tell.

    good old aussie phrases as simple as cobbler or bloke are dying and i always thought they were so ingrained into the aussie collective vocabulary that they would outlast religion. ‘mate’s still going strong but who knows what itll be like in 20 years.

    the thing that worries me is if the cityfolk are gonna spread it out into the country. Americanisms like ‘neat’ would just kill this country’s identity.

    tim tams, vegemite, ugg boots, you name it, it aint aussie anymore. some rat arse over in europe or the USA bought it and now its just not aussie anymore.

    frankly i am worried because fair dinkum true blue ockers are just dying out.”

    hey mate, I’m a fair dinkum aussie and mostly its very sad that ya can’t have a yarn anymore, but they’ll never break the country spirit. I just came back from visiting middle America and the mid-west, the country where Buffalo Bill reigned and ledgends of him and Davey Crockett are still strong. Middle america is today an extremly conservative place, and the TV gives a false impression of real America. The colloquialism ‘neat’ is only common in about 2 states.
    Yes we have a lot to blame on the propaganda which is constantly spun out of the idiot box, it gives our young sheila’s and blokes a false impression on what really is ‘cool’ in this world. What you see on TV is in no way fair dinkum. Why do we stand back and let foreign interests take over our Australian industries and way of life? It’s been happening for the last 50 years, like putting a frog in warm water and then turning the heat up bloody hot, the frog doesn’t notice he’s in hot water and is gonna die until its too bloody late.

  3. Hello,I work as an Educator here in North County San Diego,also
    work as a docent for a zoological society here and when Steve
    Irwin lost his human life,we all cried. All of us lost a decent
    human being who cared about the environment and conservation.
    He was making our jobs at the zoological society so much easier
    and with so much more meaning to it. That we will miss and it will now make our jobs a lot harder. I was in Brisbane in 1988
    for the World Expo and understand “True Blue”,had Aussie friends
    come visit us and we came to visit them in Brisbane. We also
    hosted Aussie A.F.S. students here and got to know them and their
    Aussie ways as they got to know the love we have for our home
    as Americans.

    I feel at home “Down Under” and for me also “True Blue” has so much meaning.The Aussie people have exemplified that many times
    to us,their idioms are their own and that is what makes them the people that they are. Thank you Steve Irwin for giving us ideals
    and sharing with all of us what you so firmly believed in,we
    are very much a different breed when we work our zoological hours
    and share with people the need for protecting the species!

  4. Hello,I work as an Educator here in North County San Diego,also
    work as a docent for a zoological society here and when Steve
    Irwin lost his human life,we all cried. All of us lost a decent
    human being who cared about the environment and conservation.
    He was making our jobs at the zoological society so much easier
    and with so much more meaning to it. That we will miss and it will now make our jobs a lot harder. I was in Brisbane in 1988
    for the World Expo and understand “True Blue”,had Aussie friends
    come visit us and we came to visit them in Brisbane. We also
    hosted Aussie A.F.S. students here and got to know them and their
    Aussie ways as they got to know the love we have for our home
    as Americans.

    I feel at home “Down Under” and for me also “True Blue” has so much meaning.The Aussie people have exemplified that many times
    to us,their idioms are their own and that is what makes them the people that they are. Thank you Steve Irwin for giving us ideals
    and sharing with all of us what you so firmly believed in,we
    are very much a different breed when we work our zoological hours
    and share with people the need for protecting the species!

  5. I have been reading the discussions here for the last couple of days. I found it by accident while searching for the words to Trus Blue to post on a Forum honoring Steve Irwin.I live in the USA. I have been fasinated. And have learned a lot of really great terms and meanings.

  6. As an American, I DO understand your upset about American things and expressions sort of “taking over”. I worked at a job a while ago where I needed to research eating establishments all over the world, and I was floored at the fact that there were so many American fast food restaurants everywhere! This is definitely not a good thing.

    And even here in the USA, the small “Mom and Pop” styles stores have been put out of business by the large stores such as Wal-Mart, Target, Costco, and by small chains such as Dunkin’ Donuts. My friends and I joke that no matter where you go, there is a Dunkin’ Donuts store! Where I live, in the suburbs, there are five of them within a 10 minute radius. Of course, I won’t even get into the health and obesity aspect of THAT!

    At any rate, I just hope you don’t hold it against the Americans, themselves. We are pretty powerless over most of what goes on. Yes, we vote, but that doesn’t seem to do much good.
    I respect Australians, who are trying to keep their own identifies!

  7. I first heard True Blue and Home among the gum trees at Steve Irwins memorial….I love the songs….I did buy the CD…I know True Blue was Steves favorite song….I listen to it every day….by listening to the words it sounds like a CD for friends…friends helping each other out…is your friend me or mom and dad or a cocatoo??? dosen’t matter, a friend is a friend.I don’t think about it being a fading race…..Im from the United States…Michigan to be spacific..I love John’s music….im sorry I only found it with the tragic death of Steve…

Comments are closed.