MySync: a dotMac alternative

I bought a .mac subscription this year. It cost an arm and a leg, and I don’t use it nearly enough to justify the cost. There were some downloadable Garageband loops which were nice, and Apple’s backup software which was also nice, and Virex which I don’t use because it seems superfluous…

So generally, one feels that one has wasted one’s hard earned dollars.

However there is still the issue of syncing information between computers. I only have a need to sync between my two home Macintoshes… at work I use a PC, and I cannot connect to it from outside the firewall, in any case.

Enter MySync: which will synchronise your bookmarks, contacts, iCal calendars, mail accounts, rules, signatures and smart mailboxes. There is also some rudimentary support for keychain sync but no guarantee re good functioning at this stage.

You install a copy of MySync on each of the computers you want to sync, establish one as the master and other/s as slave, and away you go.

The product is in Beta, and a free licence is available to sync all data types at once. Otherwise you just sync one at a time. A slow process. When the product is out of beta, there will be a cost for the licence, around $35. This really isnt that bad, when you consider that the licence covers all your Macs, not just one.

[Edit: 8/1/06. All that said, I have been unable to get MySync functioning on my eMac or iBook. Others have managed, I have no clue why it won’t work here, but I am over fighting with it. YMMV.]

7 thoughts on “MySync: a dotMac alternative

  1. Totally off-topic!

    What does ‘Writers Block Live’ in your blogroll have to do with writing let alone the dreaded block!

    It’s all about that foreign muck: Apples!

  2. He’s writing a book (live on the site) about his experiences working at Apple. 🙂

    Foreign muck? LOL!!

  3. Ah … I see!

    “…that foreign muck”

    A common phrase from the 60s about such ‘outlandish’ food as pasta! I don’t know what the wrinklies from those ‘olden days’ would think about the food we eat in Oz now.

  4. What I would like is an easy way to sync folders and files on different macs. Then I could update on my ibook a letter that I originally saved on my imac and both macs would always have the latest version. Can it be done?

  5. No, it just does the usual. Contacts, bookmarks, etc. Same as dotmac. (That said, it doesnt do it here, cannot get it working. Might have to pull the post soon)

    There are alternatives… I understand that rsync does something of the kind.. have a squiz here. Another alternative is Synchronise Pro which will also create bootable backups. Versiontracker is your friend.

Comments are closed.