Pineapple News Reader

I have been on the lookout for a decent newsreader ever since I came to OSX. I had been used to Agent in Windows, and Pineapple in BeOS. I had tried Unison, Thoth (now dead), Xnntp, Maxnews, Thunderbird, and even Entourage. I also tried some of the older multi-window readers. I was comfortable with none of them.

So you might imagine my delight tonight, when I found that Allen Brunson had created an OSX version of his BeOS newsreader. I quickly downloaded, and then dug deep for my old registration keys (It’s been just over 2 years and a couple of computers later) Even more delight… my old BeOS registration key works just fine for the OSX version. I shot a quick thanks off to Allen and am now in the process of downloading my favourite groups.

Pineapple works just as well as an online or offline reader, you can set global preferences, or prefs for each individual group, if you want the bodies as well as headers downloaded. I have set headers only because thats how I like to work (I really do not want some of the dross one sees on usenet). When the trial period runs out, the newsreader doesn’t cease to function, there are some features which won’t continue to work, such as binary decoding. There are others, I just don’t recall what they are right now. However, no shutdown and no nags. You either register or you don’t.

For those who have not yet found their ideal reader, Pineapple is most certainly worth a look. Its a standard OSX interface, using the 3 pane GUI, which I prefer, and its fast. Always a plus.

Do yourself a favour and check it out.

2 thoughts on “Pineapple News Reader

  1. I don’t think you’ve ever been really happy since you bought your Mac. Time to go back to M$ Windows! 😉

    Hope you have Happy Christmas and good health in 2006 and beyond.

    Cheers,
    Ron …

Comments are closed.