Interesting new Browser

FLOCK!  Its a new browser based on the gecko engine (Mozilla, Firefox, Camino et al) and it includes some pretty neat features, and almost none that you are used to.

I’m typing this in the builtin blog tool.  You can set up your blog really easily, and once your entry window is open, you can axctually drag stuff straight into a little box, to blog it.  The tool also retrieves your previous post titles. There’s also a builtin flickr client, and the bookmarks manager is like nothing I have ever seen. 

You no longer need to submit your name to a list and wait to be invited to join.  I got my dev copy this past week on invitation and have been enjoying the exploration, but I note now that the latest version is available for all to download.

Versions available for Windows, MacOSX and Linux.

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Interesting new Browser

  1. You beat me to this one by a day! It does take some getting used to, especially the bookmarks. It all works fine for me in Suse Linux, but I had glitches with a Windows NT installation.

    A lot of people are bagging it as a Firefox clone that should have remained part of the Mozilla family, but I think it’s good to have an innovative alternative.

  2. I find it works okay in Mac but the bookmarking system has me bamboozled. I keep reverting to Firefox and Safari. There’s also the issue of bookmarks not imported in spite of apparent success, so until that, at least, is sorted, its not going to be my main browser.

  3. I agree. It’s currently my third browser (after Firefox and Opera) until they sort out the import issue. I think they should provide the traditional Firefox bookmarking, with del.ici.ous as an integrated plugin, rather than the only option. It’s early days and I’ll stay on board.

Comments are closed.