Mambo Open Source Development Team – Letter to the community

OpenSourceMatters – Mambo Open Source Development Team – Letter to the community

It seems there has been a parting of the ways between Miro, the nominal Mambo owners, and the development team, due to disagreements on how the software is presented to the community and the feeling that it was no longer open source.

It will be very interesting to observe the development of Mambo now that it is bereft of its original dev team, and what will happen with the new open source version, now named Joomla.

http://www.joomla.org/

Watch that space, its lookin’ good.

2 thoughts on “Mambo Open Source Development Team – Letter to the community

  1. I’ve always been interested in Mambo, but never used it. Seems complicated, even with a Fantastico install. I looked into it more deeply once, and didn’t like the fact that themes and designs were charged.

    I’ll pay for good services, but when it comes to CMS and forums there are plenty of free ones out there. I like Xoops.

  2. I have installed it several times, and the last time I think I finally “got it”. Its a pretty steep learning curve.

    Mambo is currently free, I expect Joomla will continue that. Future Mambos may not be, I suppose.

Comments are closed.