Server Move Completed

All’s well, and I got to learn how to export and import mysql databases in the process. Normally this would terrify and defeat me and I would make some excuse about being sick of the site anyway and totally rebuild from scratch.

And here we are on A Small Orange, having been created on an Apple and, as I say… all’s well.

Made a new banner too, anyone who happens to have hosting in the same location and who uses a Mac is welcome to steal and use freely. Look to the bottom of the page for that. And if anybody happens to know who created that particular version of the Apple logo, love to hear from you, because I have no clue where it came from.

7 thoughts on “Server Move Completed

  1. I believe that Apple logo came from a nostalgia-based set of aqua-fied icons. If I ever find the set, I’ll be sure to let you know.

  2. Thanks MacmanX, I appreciate it.

    [addit] The guy’s website has gone, so I’ve sent him an email through the interfacelift system (nice site, very useful!). Hope he doesnt mind me having used that Apple.

  3. So far, so good, Kier. I really like cpanel which I did not expect after Plesk, which I was pretty devoted to. I took their “Tiny” option which is much more in keeping with the kind of space and b/w I use and I have had zero hiccups in managing the site and getting it transferred over. I chose not to continue hosting my own pix, have gone with a free flickr account instead. All in all, a good decision. The support forums are very like aussie used to be too. You thinking about it?

  4. defo – AH has gone sour – and I’d be looking at the “tiny” option with aso as well. I’ll keep ya posted.

  5. Has it? I was very unimpressed with some of MM’s attitudes, so am not that surprised. I am glad I stayed with featuredomains for my domain reg, instead of switching.

    Backing up the wp database is easy, you can use a plugin..or just do it via phpadmin. The guys in the forum are very helpful and just like on AH theres a presales question area, so you can ask what you need before committing. Also… at $30 USD, they are cheaper.

Comments are closed.