Advertisement: Personal Budgeting Software

Simply Budgets is a personal budgeting software system, the like of which I have not seen before.

Consider this: When you draw up your budget (if in fact you do draw up a budget), you are trying to predict in advance, how much money you need to achieve certain ends. These may be to get the next electric bill paid, or set aside money for a holiday at years end with the family, or to get the mortgage paid off faster.

Consider also that most budgeting software isn’t. All it does, usually, is help you balance your books. Thats kinda like bolting the stable door after the horse has gone, to coin a cliche.

Simply Budgets does the lot. You give it the information it needs, on the day you start using it, and feed it all the information regarding your regular bills, and other expenses, like that McDonalds breakfast you have every morning, and the 3 monthly trip to Aunt Mary’s to take her out to the movies. You also tell it when you think you need to replace your car, your washing machine and so forth. You tell it everything. And then you set it to work. In just a few seconds you get a graph of your budget and how its going to look over the next 12 months. It will tell you if you are living beyond your means, and it will tell you how much money you need to achieve your goals. It could not be simpler.

The only problem I have with the software is that its Windows only which forces me to use Virtual PC on my MacOSX machine. However, it runs just fine.

Simply Budgets: The best personal budgeting software around.

3 thoughts on “Advertisement: Personal Budgeting Software

  1. Well, I fully agree with your comment. πŸ™‚

    BTW: I visited your blog earlier today and I just wanted to congratulate you on a well presented, and informative resource.

    It’s not often that I come across a web site that offers a wealth of quality. πŸ˜‰

  2. I’m familiar with Simply Budgets, but have only used their First Steps program. I found it was ok, but as with many other systems, having to enter everything manually was a bit tedious.

    The program I’m currently using is one called Budgets Get Real, which might be of some interest. It runs on both MacOSX and Windows and imports directly from electronic bank statements – It’s also Australian.

  3. Thanks for the headsup on Budgets Get Real, Jasmine. I’ve just taken a look at it and it certainly reads like something I could use (though I’m not that interested in importing bank statements)… but there is no free trial period, and I will not pay for anything online before I try it out. It isn’t the same as buying something from a physical shop, and even then in most cases returns are not permitted because the software could have been pirated before the return… So.. nice idea, lousy marketing, no sale.

Comments are closed.